EPP-ED : European People’s Party and European Democrats

The European People’s Party and the European Democrats (EPP-ED) group by and large contain Europe’s Christian democrats. It forms the largest group in the European Parliament with 288 MEPs . Former Belgian Prime Minister Wilfried Martens is president of the EPP. French MEP Joseph Daul is the chairman of the EPP-ED Group in the European Parliament.
The Flemish Christian democrats (CD&V) have three MEPs: former Belgian Prime Minister Jean-Luc Dehaene, party chairwoman Marianne Thyssen, and Ivo Belet. The same three are heading their list of candidates (in this order) for the upcoming EP elections. The Francophone Christian democrats (CDH) have one MEP: former Belgian Minister Raymond Langendries. Belgium’s German-language community’s one representative in the European Parlemiant is also a Christian Democrat: Mathieu Grosch. The Flemish nationalist MEP Frieda Brepoels is also a member of the EPP-ED. The Flemish nationalists (N-VA) had an allegiance with the Flemish Christian democrats for the last European elections- an allegiance which has since fallen apart.

The British Conservative Party and the Czech Democratic Citizens’ Party will be leave the EPP-ED group after the European Elections in June.

Click here to visit the EPP-ED Group’s website