Verhofstadt chosen liberal leader in EP

Former Belgian Prime Minister, now Flemish liberal MEP Guy Verhofstadt has unanimously been chosen to be leader of the ALDE politician group: the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe. Guy Verhofstadt takes over from Graham Watson.
Guy Verhofstadt was the only candidate to succeed the Scotsman Graham Watson as leader of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe in the European Parliament. Guy Verhofstadt’s candidacy was met with enthusiasm and support by the other MEPs in the group.
The Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe is the second largest political group in the European Parliament, after the European People’s Party of Christian democrats.

The liberal group plays an important role in the formation of coalitions and agreements between the different political groups.

Guy Verhofstadt is at the moment still interim chairman of the Flemish liberal Open VLD party. It is not yet certain who will take over. Elections for a new chairman are planned for the autumn. Guy Verhofstadt is resigning from the municipal council of Ghent next week.