Three teams left for the title in football

In football, Anderlecht lost their top position after they were kept to a draw by AA Gent. RC Genk beat FC Bruges, reclaiming the lead in the play-off competition. Standard de Liège, the other challengers for the league title, are playing tonight. A win would allow them to confirm their title ambitions and to up the pressure on their opponents.

AA Gent received Anderlecht in the Jules Otten Stadium in Gentbrugge (1-1). The hosts took a furious start and could have scores 3 or 4 times, but the only goal came when Tim Smolders (big photo) beat Anderlecht goalkeeper Silvio Proto after 11 minutes. Ghent striker Zlatan Ljubijankic hit the post.

The Anderlecht equaliser on 36 minutes came as a complete surprise. Anderlecht defender Roland Juhasz headed home the 1-1(small photo, left). Anderlecht strengthened its grip on the match afterwards and had the better chances after the break.

The draw didn't help either of the two teams. AA Gent still haven't won in the season-ending play-offs in four matches. A win would have boosted their hopes of playing in Europe next season. For Anderlecht, the draw meant that they lost the lead to KRC Genk of Limburg province.

KRC Genk cruise past FC Bruges

KRC Genk were able to take advantage from Anderlecht's draw. The Limburgers beat FC Bruges (3-1) and leapfrogged the Brussels club to first place.

Joseph Akpala put the visitors ahead but this lead was soon wiped out by goals by Marvin Ogunjimi, Elyaniv Barda and top scorer Jelle Vossen.

RC Genk welcomed back striker Ogunjimi in the team after an injury spell. His return boosted the offensive compartment. However, the Belgian international will have to miss the next game as he received his fifth yellow card. Another Genk striker, Barda, will also be suspended when Genk play AA Gent next weekend.

Tonight, Standard receive Sporting Lokeren in the final match of the fourth day of play. It looks as if the group of title challengers has been reduced to three teams: defending champions Anderlecht, KRC Genk and Standard.