Daniel Moreno wins the Flèche Wallonne

The Spaniard Daniel Moreno (Katjoesja) has won this year’s Flèche Wallonne cycle race. He was the first to complete the 205km race, crossing the finishing line in Huy (Liège province) with a time of 4 hours, 5 minutes and 2.33 seconds.

Daniel Moreno came in three seconds ahead of Team Sky’s Columbian rider Sergio Henao. Henao’s country man Carlos Betancur (Ag2r-La Mondiale) came in third.

Philippe Gilbert was the best Belgian in 13th place. It was the 77th time that the race had been rode. The Flèche Wallonne was Moreno’s first race victory of the season’s.

Last year’s Flèche Wallonne was won by Moreno’s compatriot and teammate Joaquim Rodriguez.

The top ten

1 SPA Daniel Moreno KAT 4u52'33"
2 COL Sergio Henao SKY +3"
3 COL Carlos Betancur ALM +3"
4 IRE Daniel Martin GRS +3"
5 POL Michal Kwiatkowski OPQ +3"
6 SPA Joaquim Rodríguez KAT +8"
7 SPA Alejandro Valverde MOV +8"
8 SPA Igor Antón EUS +8"
9 NL Bauke Mollema BLA +8"
0 ITA Rinaldo Nocentini ALM +8"