Aussie victory in Liège-Bastogne-Liège

Australia's Simon Gerrans has won this year's Liège-Bastogne-Liège cycling race. Gerrans finished ahead of Alejandro Valverde of Spain and Michal Kwiatkowski of Poland.

The darling of the crowds, Belgium's Philippe Gilbert, failed to make his mark ending the race in a disappointing 8th place, a full three minutes behind the winner.

It was a lacklustre performance by the Belgians all round. Gilbert was the quickest Belgian to finish the race. The second and only other Belgian in the first twenty was Jelle Vanendert, who finished eleventh.

The race took the riders over 263 km through the undulating elevations of the Ardennes. This year's race had special significance as the Doyenne or 'Senior' as the race is called is marking its centenary this year.

Gerrans faced little opposition: Britain’s Froome and Colombia's Betancur failed to appear at the start where King Filip waved the riders off. Rodriguez was soon in trouble and Rui Costa left the race early.