Jens Debusschere is Belgian Cycling Champion

Jens Debusschere (Lotto-Belisol) has won this year's Belgian Cycling Championship race in the West Flemish municipality of Wielsbeke. The 24-year-old from Roeselare (West Flanders) beat Roy Jans (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) into second place. The big favourite to become this year's Belgian Champion Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-Quick.Step) was third.

Jens Debusschere succeeds Stijn Devolder as Belgian Cycling Champion. The Belgian Cycling Championship was Jens Debusschere’s fifth professional race victory.

Last year he won Championship of Flanders (1.1), a stage in the Eurométropole Tour (2.1) and the National Closing Prize (1.1).

Speaking after his win in Sunday's Belgian Cycling Championship, Jens Debusschere told journalists that "Whichever race I win in the future, this will always remain one of the highlights of my career".