Goffin victorious in Metz final

Our compatriot David Goffin (ATP 45) has won the Metz Tennis Tournament. In what was the 12th ATP circuit tournament final victory by a Belgian, Goffin beat Portugal’s Joao Sousa (ATP 39) in two sets 6-4, 6-3.

Just 6 Belgians have ever won a ATP tournament. They are Bernard Mignot, Filip Dewulf, Olivier Rochus, Xavier Malisse, Steve Darcis and David Goffin.

David Goffin’s first ATP tournament win was on 7 August at Kitzbuhel. Before that the previous Belgian ATP tournament victory was Steve Darcis win at the ATP tournament in Memphis in 2008.