Eden Hazard is Football Writers' Player of the Year

Two weeks after Eden Hazard's British colleagues laureled him as player of the year, UK football journalists are doing the same on their behalf. The Red Devil in Chelsea received 53% of votes, a comfortable lead on number 2 and 3: respectively Tottenham striker Harry Kane and captain John Terry.

This season, the 24-year-old Belgian scored 20 goals and catered for an even higher amount. This helped Chelsea win the League Cup, its first title since 2010. The prestigious trophy was first awarded in 1948. Hazard will receive it on 21 May at a football gala diner in London.

With the award, Hazard will be following the footsteps of Luis Suarez, who successfully transferred from Liverpool to Barcelona. "Our awards feature a long list of world class players, and Eden Hazard is a fine addition to it", states the British Football Writers' Association in a press release.

"He creates opportunities, and he takes them. He works very hard, and above all: you can count on him. After all, despite the opponents' often very tough approach, he participated in all of the 36 possible competition duels."

Chelsea was the biggest winner at the awards. Apart from Hazard and Terry, midfielder Fabregas, defender Ivanovic, and Belgian goal keeper Thibaut Courtois received many votes.

Top stories