Wout van Aert takes Cyclo-cross World Champions’ title

The Flemish rider Wout van Aert is this season’s Cyclo-cross World Chamionship. Wout van Aert made a comeback in the closing stages of an exciting race, catching up with and overtaking the Dutch rider Lars van der Haar. Lars van der Haar took silver. The Fleming Kevin Pauwels came in third, beating Sven Nys and the defending World Champion Mathieu van der Poel to take bronze.

The result of Cyclo-cross World Cup for Professionals

1. Wout van Aert in                  1h05'52"
2. Lars van der Haar (NL)        5" behind
3. Kevin Pauwels                     35"
4. Sven Nys                              39"
5. Mathieu van der Poel (NL) 47"
6. David van der Poel (Ned)  1'03"
7. Laurens Sweeck                 1'11"
8. Tom Meeusen                      1'23"
9. Radomir Simunek (CZ)      1'37"
10. Marcel Meisen (Ger)        1'43"