Nicolas Maeterlinck

Six Ensors for "Le fidèle"

The Flemish film awards the Ensors were presented in Ostend on Saturday evening. The big winner was Michaël R. Roskam’s film ‘Le fidèle’ that picked up 6 Ensors, including the prize for best film that it shared with Sahim Omar Kalifa’s ‘Zagros. ‘Tabula rasa’, a series broadcast on the VRT’s first television channel Eén took all the Ensors for Flemish TV series.  

This year’s Ensors were the first to include categories for television series. The 2018 Ensors were also the first to be decided by a plebiscite of all the members of the Ensor Academy. Membership of the Ensor Academy is open to all professional that work in the industry. This means that those than win Ensors do so as a result of their colleagues’ appreciation of their work.

As Michaël R. Roskam’s ‘Le fidèle’ and Samir Omar Kalifa’s ‘Zagros’ had exactly the same number of votes in the best film category both were given an Ensor.  

The winners

  • Best film: ‘Le fidèle’ (Michaël R. Roskam) and ‘Zagros’ (Sahim Omar Kalifa)
  • Best Director: Michaël R. Roskam – ‘Le fidèle’
  • Best Script: Sahim Omar Kalifa and Jean-Claude Van Rijckeghem – ‘Zagros’
  • Best Actor: Matthias Schoenaerts – ‘Le fidèle’
  • Best Actress: Natali Broods – ‘Façades’
  • Best Film Editor: Alain Dessauvage – ‘Le fidèle’
  • Best Music: Liesa Van der Aa – ‘Cargo’
  • Best Production Design: Geert Paredis, Kristin Van Passel, Mariel Hoevenaars – ‘Le fidèle’
  • Best Director of Photography: Nicolas Karakatsanis – ‘Le fidèle’
  • Best documentary: ‘Rabot’ by Christina Vandekerckhove
  • Best Youth Film: ‘Rosie & Moussa’ van Dorothée van den Berghe
  • Best Home Debut: ‘Girl’ by Lukas Dhont
  • Albert Bert Price for International Attainment: Jakob Verbruggen
  • Telenet Public Price: ‘Patser’ by Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah
  • Most Watched Film:’F.C. De Kampioenen 3: Forever’ by Jan Verheyen (based on box office returns)

Ensors for TV-Series

  • Best TV-series: ‘Tabula rasa’ by Kaat Beels & Jonas Govaerts
  • Best script: Malin-Sarah Gozin, Veerle Baetens, Christophe Dirickx –‘Tabula rasa’
  • Best Director: Kaat Beels & Jonas Govaerts – ‘Tabula rasa’
  • Best Actor: Peter Van den Begin – ‘Tabula rasa’
  • Beste actress :  Veerle Baetens – ‘Tabula rasa’

Top stories