Kompany and De Bruyne not selected for games against Russia and Cyprus

The Belgian national team coach Roberto Martinez has announced his squad for the Red Devils’ forthcoming two qualification games against Russia and Cyprus. The two games will be played on Thursday 21 March and Sunday 24 March.  

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Vincent Kompany and Dortmund’s Axel Witsel are all out through injury. It will be the first time in 5 years that he will have been missing from the national team squad.

Manchester United’s Romelu Lukaku has been selected for 28-man squad. However, issues with the striker’s ankle mean that he may well be unable to play

There are also doubts about Thomas Vermaelen. The Barcelona defender is still recovering from injury, although he did train earlier this week.  

There are no new-comers in the squad. Standard’s 19-year-old central defender Zinho Vanheusden has not been selected despite having put in some sterling performances for his club this year.

The squad


Thibaut Courtois

Real Madrid (Spa)


Simon Mignolet

Liverpool (Eng)


Koen Casteels

Wolfsburg (Germ)


Matz Sels

Straatsburg (Fra)


Toby Alderweireld

Tottenham (Eng)


Jan Vertonghen

Tottenham (Eng)


Thomas Vermaelen

Barcelona (Spa)


Thomas Meunier

PSG (Fra)


Timothy Castagne

Atalanta (Ita)


Dedryck Boyata

Celtic (Sch)


Jason Denayer

Lyon (Fra)


Brandon Mechele

Club Brugge


Moussa Dembélé

Guangzhou R&F (Chn)


Yannick Carrasco

Dalian Yifang (Chn)


Nacer Chadli

Monaco (Fra)


Youri Tielemans

Leicester (Eng)


Adnan Januzaj

Sociedad (Spa)


Leander Dendoncker

Wolverhampton (Eng)


Dennis Praet

Sampdoria (Ita)


Hans Vanaken

Club Brugge


Eden Hazard

Chelsea (Eng)


Romelu Lukaku

Manchester United (Eng)


Dries Mertens

Napoli (Ita)


Michy Batshuayi 

Crystal Palace (Eng)


Divock Origi

Liverpool (Eng)


Thorgan Hazard

Mönchengladbach (Ger)


Leandro Trossard

Racing Genk


Christian Benteke

Crystal Palace (Eng)

Top stories