German Language Community has a new government

An agreement has been reached for the formation of a coalition that will govern that German Language community for the next five years. The German Language community is the smallest of Belgium’s three language communities. It has responsibility for areas of policy that include education, sport, media, culture and vocational training in the nine municipalities in Liège province where German is the official language. 

The new coalition is identical to the old one an is made up of the regionalist party ProDG, the liberal party PFF and the socialist party SP.

Olivier Paasch (ProDG) will remain First Minister and the other 3  ministers will also stay on albeit with slightly different responsibilities than during the previous legislature. The socialist Karl-Heinz Lamberts will become Speaker of the German Language Community’s Parliament.

Top stories