Remco Evenepoel wins Aalst Post-Tour Criterium

The Fleming Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) has won the 84th Aalst (East Flanders) Post-Tour Criterium. The 19-year-old from Schepdaal (Flemish Brabant) came out on top in a three-man sprint consisting of himself, the winner of the Tour de France Egan Bernal and Laurens De Plus.       

The Belgian Cycling Champion Tim Merlier came in fourth, just ahead of Thomas De Gendt.  It was a closed race until 15 laps from the finish. Frederik Backaert and his teammate Xandro Meurisse moved things up a gear. This was the signal for Tim Merlier, Thomas De Gendt and to ride in front of the bunch.

The peloton behind them split into two groups. Aimé De Gendt caught up with the three leaders. A little further on the peloton melted back together, in part due to the work of Iljo Keise and his shadow Remco Evenepoel.   

Laurens De Plus and Egan Bernal broke away from the group containing the race’s big favourites.

Meanwhile, Remco Evenepoel was able to bridge the gap with the leaders. De Plus, Bernal and Evenepoel were left to fight it out for first place. In the end it was Evenpoel that came out on top.

Top stories